The Power of a Paper Chain

24 Aug

For this page, I couldn’t cut the page into strips and make just ANY old paper chain. Perfectionist that I am, I had to give it some color and find a way to make the paper chain into something truly meaningful, something artistic, something metaphoric maybe? I noticed that there were 20 strips. Something needed to be written on the strips…maybe the months of the year–I could write the name of each month and rip off a strip to mark each month that I stuck with my creativity goals for the next year, maybe. But that would leave eight strips without any writing on them. No, that wouldn’t do. What could I write 20 of?

Eureka! In The Artist’s Way, Julia Cameron lists 20 Creative Affirmations. Perfect! In tiny print, I wrote each affirmation, colored them with my Pentel markers and looped them together in ROYGBIV order. Nice!!!

 Then I attached the chain to the page and looped it around the outside of the book as a constant reminder that creativity is an ongoing process–a succession, a sequence, a string of courageous actions that build upon, link and entwine with one another.

Creative Affirmations (From The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron)

  1. I am a channel for God’s creativity, and my work comes to good.
  2. My dreams come from God and God has the power to accomplish them.
  3. As I create and listen, I will be led.
  4. Creativity is the creator’s will for me.
  5. My creativity heals myself and others.
  6. I am allowed to nurture my artist.
  7. Through the use of a few simple tools, my creativity will flourish.
  8. Through the use of my creativity, I serve God.
  9. My creativity always leads me to truth and love.
  10. My creativity leads me to forgiveness and self-forgiveness.
  11. There is a divine plan of goodness for me.
  12. There is a divine plan of goodness for my work.
  13. As I listen to the creator within, I am led.
  14. As I listen to my creativity I am led to my creator.
  15. I am willing to create.
  16. I am willing to learn to let myself create.
  17. I am willing to let God create through me.
  18. I am willing to be of service through my creativity.
  19. I am willing to experience my creative energy.
  20. I am willing to use my creative talents.
Leave a Reply

