Scrubbing

21 Aug

 

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post, let me assure you that I did not traumatize my 6-year old son by ruining his cookie dough fund raising materials. I just about grabbed his packet first but thought better of it at the last second. Once he saw how much fun my daughter and I were having destroying her packet, he gladly offered up his and joined in on the paper thrashing.

Let me just say here too how much I hate certain types of school fundraisers–particularly the ones that exploit our young children and lead them to believe that they could EVER sell enough cookie dough to earn a limosine ride. How cruel IS that, really? Not to mention how cruel it is to expect an already overloaded mom to take her child door-to-door in a neighborhood with 50 other kids who are doing the exact same thing. I’d much rather just send the school a check for $50 knowing they will get ALL of the proceeds instead of just a small portion. AARRGGHH! Done ranting now… 

See what this book is doing to me? It’s making me snarky. I told you it was going to get me into trouble…;-)

Yesterday’s “Scrub This Page” was really fun, BTW. I got out the Comet and a sponge and went at it. The black ink and paper started rubbing off. Then I took a soapy nail brush to it and scrubbed so hard, I ripped a couple of holes in the page. I also used white nail polish to paint synonyms to the word “scrub” across the top and bottom of the page.

Next thing I knew, I had a very strong urge to take on a home decorating project that has needed to be done for quite some time. I went into my main floor bathroom, began ripping the wallpaper off the wall and spent the next several hours spraying and scraping off wallpaper backing. It was a very satisfactory feeling, indeed, to rip and scrub and make such a mess of things!

When my girls came home from school, they were amazed. I NEVER do things like this. The world as they knew it had been upended for a moment–until I asked them if they wanted to join in on the fun. Guess what their answer was?

What I’m discovering from this experiment already is that when you give yourself permission to play, to create, to break the rules, to LIVE, you give other people permission to do the same.

(And that goes for our rowdy Yorkie puppy, Jonas, too–who gladly ripped apart a roll of toilet paper and TPeed the bathroom while we were doing this project!)

2 Responses to “Scrubbing”

  1. sassyquilter August 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    I bought this book today also. I look forward to all of our fun adventures!

  2. brainymama August 23, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Yay!!! This is going to be a blast with my yiddo sisters!!!

Leave a Reply

