Chew on This!

20 Aug

Well, this is the page I opened up to yesterday…Kind of gives a new meaning to the idea of “having a taste for books,” doesn’t it? I’ve always loved the smell of books, but now I KNOW they don’t taste as good as they smell! The hardest parts about chewing on the page was keeping my gag reflex in check and manuevering the chomping in such a way that I wouldn’t get a paper cut in the corners of my mouth. Now THAT would hurt…

I have to say that doing these creative (or destructive) exercises is already freeing me in other areas of my life. Yesterday my elementary-aged son and daughter came home from school with their cookie dough fund-raising packets. My 6-year old son was eager to tell me all about it and was absolutely convinced he was going to be the one to win the grand prize–a limosine ride. My 10-year old daughter, on the other hand, looked quite dismal.

She asked, “Mom, do I HAVE to sell cookie dough?”

I looked her straight in the eye and said, “Nope. Let me see that packet.”

She handed it to me and I promptly tossed it on the ground. “We can even stomp on it if you want to,” I offered.

She looked at me in amazement. “Really?”

“Really! Go for it!”

We took turns stomping on the packet, then found other ways to deface it like tearing it up, smearing it in the mud and pouring water on it.

This book is going to get me into a lot of trouble… 😉

One Response to “Chew on This!”

  1. Tracey August 20, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Way to stick it to the MAN!

Leave a Reply

