Bring on the Bulbs!

10 Apr

Every spring I suffer from “tulip envy” because I’m the one who never remembers to plant bulbs in the fall. While everyone else has colorful flowers cheerily adorning their yard, I never do. But believe it or not, this year, I actually remembered! Ahoy! I garden!

This is a really big deal for me because generally, thinking in advance is a bit of a challenge for me. I’m lucky if I can plan dinner each night let alone plan a flower bed months in advance. But last October or November, I drove over to Home Depot with my daughters and bought hyacinth, tulip, and daffodil bulbs. The bulbs were all picked over and the selection wasn’t that great, but the important thing was that I remembered  (just in time) to plant them. Now, we have quite the show of blooms in the front yard and I’m rather enjoying being the one in the neighborhood everyone else is envying for a change.

It helps, too that we now have a southwestern exposure which gives us the distinct advantage of our bulbs blooming earlier than everyone on the other side of the street. (Not that this is a competition or anything…)

Look at these gorgeous tulips…(I love the pink blush color!)

(Uh huh, uh huh, uh huh!)      

 

 And these radiant daffodils…

  (Oh yeah, yeah, yeah!)

Irises, bleeding hearts, and day lilies are coming up, too. And around Mother’s Day, I’m planting my favorite flowers–roses. They’ll love soaking up all that sun in the front yard. I can’t wait!

Overwhelmed mother that I am, I love any plant I can just stick in the ground and that knows what to do without too much extra attention from me. Yep, I’m a lazy gardener and proud of it!

2 Responses to “Bring on the Bulbs!”

  1. Sassy Quilter April 10, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    Now I am one of those people envying you! Just beautiful. I still have fake Christmas berries in my front porch pot. I guess that’s alright for today since we have 3 inches of snow on the ground 🙂

  2. Weasie (Mom) April 13, 2008 at 5:54 am #

    Your tulips are beautiful!!! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

