Archive | 5:11 pm

My Life is a Mess!

31 Mar

As a mom, do you ever feel like all you do is clean up one mess after another? Lately, I feel like I just move from one disaster zone to another, automatically access the damage and initiate the appropriate clean-up sequence.

In the past few weeks, thanks to my very active and artistic toddler, I’ve had the supreme joy of cleaning up black crayon scribbled on white carpeting, black Sharpie marker scribbled on glass, painted walls, and wood floors, and black mascara dabbed all over white painted door frames.

Here are some more fun messes and substances I’ve had to deal with recently…

moon-sand.jpg

My sister gave some Moon Sand to my 5-year-old son for his birthday. He definitely had a great time playing with it, but I didn’t have such a great time cleaning it up. Even though I tried to confine my son’s play to a shallow plastic container, the Moon Sand ended up all over the kitchen. (Thanks anyway, Darch!) The ad’s claim that “clean up is a snap” is completely false, though the claim that you can “bring the fun of the beach inside” is pretty accurate. There’s nothing quite like the gritty feeling of sand between your toes as you walk across your wood floor. 

So what I want to know is who designs this stuff anyway? Obviously, NOT a mother of five kids…

floam.jpg

Then there’s Floam which has the consistency of Rice-Krispie treats. Our church nursery leaders were using this stuff during play time until I told them it was showing up in my son’s diaper. Yes, I found out the hard way that “floam sticks to almost anything” (like to my child’s intestines) and those “tiny foam microbeads…form to any shape you want.” (Okay, I won’t go there…) Let’s just say it made for some interesting diaper changes. Like my oldest son says, “Floam in, floam out.”

silly-putty.jpg

Last but not least, there’s good ole’ Silly Putty. My younger daughter brought some home from church on Easter Sunday. It has since shown up in sticky teal-blue puddles on two handmade items I made for her–a crocheted baby afghan and a bed quilt. I’m not sure how to go about getting Silly Putty out of fabric so I think I’ll just sit back, scratch my head and go to my “happy place” for awhile. Sigh!!!!

