“Feeling Good”(and Grumpy) at 40

26 Mar

lisas-40th-birthday.jpg

I turned 40 on Monday, and I’m feeling rather ambivalent about it. Part of me feels very content with where I’m at in my life and part of me feels restless and in need of a few changes. Sometimes, I’m okay with the way I look and sometimes I’m downright grumpy about my appearance and feel like I could really use a make-over.

Generally, I’m a pretty positive person and I’m trying to carry that attitude over into how I feel about aging. I’ve chosen Michael Buble’s “I’m Feeling Good” as my theme song for the year. I’m working on internalizing the lyrics–It’s a new dawn/It’s a new day/It’s a new life for me/And I’m feeling good–but so far, everything feels pretty status quo around here. I think it’s going to take a lot more than wishful thinking to get this tired, worn-out Mom re-energized…

A good place to start, though would be to do a complete overhaul of my existing wardrobe. I’m tired of being frumpy! So Coldwater Creek, here I come!

And I have started wearing make-up and jewelry again so I guess that’s at least a step in the right direction.

Fortunately, I’m in great physical health and according to my dentist and his assistants, I look incredibly young in spite of having 5 kids. However, I couldn’t resist taking the ultralongevity quiz I came across on the internet the other day. I scored a 68 which according to the test results means I am “aging like a giant tortoise.” So is that supposed to be a compliment? (After a dry Colorado winter, my skin certainly resembles that of a giant tortoise and I have about as much energy as one, too.)

Then there’s the whole “vintage” cereal box thing. Have you seen the General Mills cereal boxes for Honey Nut Cheerios and Lucky Charms lately? If you can remember when they had those old designs then I guess you are considered “vintage.” NOT! Well, that is if you’re talking about the definition of vintage that means “dated” or “antique.” If you’re talking about the definition that means “recognized as being of high quality and lasting appeal” than that’s different…

Okay, maybe I am obsessing just a little too much about aging and getting a little too defensive about it…

I think I need a time out. A good friend recommended that I take better care of myself so I’ve decided that this is the year to figure out how to do that. Chocolate is always a good option…

Another friend recommended that I buy myself something totally impractical like a pair of shoes that only goes with one outfit. Hmmm…not as easy as it sounds, though. Twenty years of ingrained frugality and deferment is a hard habit to break. This same friend sent me a birthday card that reads: “On the road of life, 40 is nature’s way of saying…You’ve arrived!” Then she adds, “I do believe that not only have you arrived but that this is just the beginning of great things!”

Yes, 40 is just the beginning of great things and I plan to “live well, laugh often, love much” (and keep on coloring those graying sideburns!)

2 Responses to ““Feeling Good”(and Grumpy) at 40”

  1. kristen liberty March 28, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    I just finished “Wonder Mold Mama” which I found through Literary Mama. The tears are still clinging to my eyelashes.

    What a wonderful inspiration. The gods have lead me to you at a time when I couldn’t have asked for myself.

    You have a new fan! I cannot wait to read through the rest of your blog.

    Thank you so much!

    Happy Birthday.

  2. Uncle Layle's wife, Cathy April 9, 2008 at 3:02 pm #

    You look absolutely fabulous for 40!!! Love your blog! You are doing great.

    Love ya
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

